

March 31, 2021

Dear NCDSB Families,

It is hard to believe that planning is already underway for the next school year. This is a very important time for schools every year, as we consider class structures, staffing decisions, and Principal placements.

I am pleased to confirm Principal placements for the 2021-2022 school year. Our Principals are exceptional in the work they do, and each one of them has a deep commitment to the school they serve. We know that change is hard, but sometimes change is necessary in order to ensure the growth and sustainability of our Catholic school system.

We are pleased to announce the appointment of Sean Robertson to the position of Principal at St. Joseph School, beginning in the 2021-2022 school year. Mr. Robertson has served in the role of elementary VP for a short while, before taking on the principalship of the NCDSB Virtual Program. We know that he will continue the great work of his predecessor, Betty Pichette, who will enjoy her well-deserved retirement.

For Pope Francis Elementary School, please note that Roslyn Gauthier and Erica Raymond will serve as co-principals for the first few months of the new school year. This will be an amazing opportunity for two very experienced and committed school leaders to work together in a special way, serving the needs of students and staff. Mrs. Raymond has extensive knowledge of early years programming and a strong background in curriculum leadership. Mrs. Gauthier has years of valuable school leadership experience, which will be of tremendous benefit to the Pope Francis Elementary School community. As well, we hope to have Mrs. Gauthier provide mentoring support and guidance to our new school principals.

We welcome Darren Berthier back to O'Gorman Intermediate Catholic School, the place where he began his journey in Catholic Education with our district school board. We are confident that the school community will benefit from Mr. Berthier's passion, commitment, and leadership experience.

Finally, we expect to post the vacancy at St. Anne School in the very near future. We look forward to welcoming a new leader to the school and working collaboratively with the community to ensure positive outcomes and success.

Our Catholic school system is blessed to have our Principals leading our school communities. We are very grateful for the many ways that our Principals and Vice-Principals respond to the needs of students and staff — leading us all forward in our mission of learning together, striving for excellence, and being in service to God and each other. They are a great group of dedicated professionals, and I want to acknowledge each and every one of them for their incredible service, unwavering commitment, and resilience. It is an honour to work with them.

Here is a summary of Principal placements for the 2021-2022 school year:

School	Principal	School	Principal
St. Pats – Kap	Gretchen Morgan	Aileen Wright	Andrea Iserhoff
BBS	Kevin Wendling	St. Anne	TBD
OICS	Darren Berthier	St. Joseph	Sean Robertson
St. Jerome	Daniel Stargratt	Sacred Heart	Karen MacGregor
ECCS	Matt Turner	Holy Family	Cheryl Ricco
St. Pats – Cobalt	Lori Hurtubise	Pope Francis	Roslyn Gauthier
		Elementary School	Erica Raymond
OHS	Ted Weltz	Lauri-Ann Loreto Neal (VP)	
		Sharon Maisonneuve (VP - ACCESS)	

Sincerely,

Tricia Stefanic Weltz Director of Education